top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureHannah

Dreamland

Author: Sarah Dessen

Genre: Contemporary

Rating: 2/5


Synopsis (Goodreads)

Wake up, Caitlin

Ever since she started going out with Rogerson Biscoe, Caitlin seems to have fallen into a semiconscious dreamland where nothing is quite real. Rogerson is different from anyone Caitlin has ever known. He's magnetic. He's compelling. He's dangerous. Being with him makes Caitlin forget about everything else--her missing sister, her withdrawn mother, her lackluster life. But what happens when being with Rogerson becomes a larger problem than being without him?


My Thoughts

Over the years I have heard so many good things about Sarah Dessen but continuously chose any other book off my shelf but hers. This probably was because I had created such high expectations for her writing and didn't want to be unimpressed or disappointed, but unfortunately that is what I was with this book.

Dreamland seemed stereotypical and cheesy to me unfortunately. Caitlin had always lived in the shadow of her sister Cass, and then she falls for "the bad boy" and ends up in a pretty awful situation. It just seems so cliché to me. Also throughout the story there's a joke about Rogerson's hair that ultimately just gets really annoying. "It's because of the hair." "We'll spring the hair on them another time."

Eventually, as things escalate in the story the Caitlin's character does get a bit better, but just to the point where she is bearable. I can't really put my finger on why I found this story and the characters so cheesy but by the last chapter I was basically just skimming the pages to get to the end.

I'm not going to write off Sarah Dessen's book just yet seeing as I have four of five more on my shelf, so hopefully I enjoy those books a little bit better!


Do you like Sarah Dessen? If so what book would you recommend?

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

May TBR!

We are so close to summer! It's May already, where is the year going? In April, I had created my first specific TBR list (meaning I had picked out all the books and what order I wanted to read them in

bottom of page