top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureHannah

Ember Burning

Author: Jennifer Alsever

Genre: Paranormal Fantasy

Rating: 3.5/5


Synopsis (Goodreads)

Senior year was supposed to be great--that's what Ember's friend Maddie promised at the beginning of the year. Instead, Ember Trouve spends the year drifting in and out of life like a ghost, haunted by her parents' recent, tragic death.

At home, she pores over her secret obsession: pictures of missing kids-- from newspaper articles, from grocery store flyers-- that she's glued inside a spiral notebook. Like her, the people are lost. Like her, she discovers, they had been looking for a way to numb their pain when they disappeared.

When Ember finds herself in Trinity Forest one day, a place locals stay away from at all costs, she befriends a group of teenagers who are out camping. Hanging out with them in the forest tainted with urban legends of witchcraft and strange disappearances, she has more fun than she can remember having. But something isn't right.

The candy-covered wickedness she finds in Trinity proves to be a great escape, until she discovers she can never go home. Will Ember confront the truth behind her parents' death, or stay blissfully numb and lose herself to the forest forever?



This image does not belong to me, it was taken from the Goodreads website.

My Thoughts

I was checking the mail one day when I opened a package and inside it was this book! To be honest I am not totally sure why or how I got it because there was no note and it said it had come from Amazon, but I didn't order it even though I was interested in it. The synopsis was very captivating, however the book was not what I had expected it would be. That being said, I am not totally sure what I expected it to be in the first place, but I do know I thought there would be more magical stuff or more witchcraft action. There was a little bit of some mind controlling and seeing colors attached to sound, and of course being trapped for eternity, but other than that nothing was very magical. I really liked all of the characters and how they were all very different from one another despite having something major in common. My most favorite definitely had to be Tre, I am a sucker for those cliche bad boys when it comes to YA romance. However, the relationship between Ember and Tre left something to be desired. Personally, I wish the author had elaborated a little more with the whole sort of love triangle thing that had happened, however this is only the first book so who knows what is waiting for us in the next one! I have very mixed feelings about this book. It was most definitely a page turner and I did like the writing style of Jennifer Alvester but it just seemed to be missing something for me. I'm not quite sure what else to say about this book because I really don't know what I think of it! I will give Oshuns Rising a chance though, so I'll let you guys know more after I get that one!

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

May TBR!

We are so close to summer! It's May already, where is the year going? In April, I had created my first specific TBR list (meaning I had picked out all the books and what order I wanted to read them in

bottom of page