top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureHannah

The Anatomical Shape of a Heart

Author: Jenn Bennett

Genre: Contemporary

Rating: 4.5/5


Synopsis (Goodreads)

Beatrix Adams knows exactly how she’s spending the summer before her senior year. Determined to follow in Da Vinci’s footsteps, she’s ready to tackle the one thing that will give her an advantage in a museum-sponsored scholarship contest: drawing actual cadavers. But when she tries to sneak her way into the hospital’s Willed Body program and misses the last metro train home, she meets a boy who turns her summer plans upside down.

Jack is charming, wildly attractive, and possibly one of San Francisco’s most notorious graffiti artists. On midnight buses and city rooftops, Beatrix begins to see who Jack really is—and tries to uncover what he’s hiding that leaves him so wounded. But will these secrets come back to haunt him? Or will the skeletons in her family’s closet tear them apart?




My Thoughts

So, around last summer (if not earlier) one of the local thrift stores in my area received a huge shipment of books from Harper Collins and its imprints, and among these books were several young adults ARCs (I scooped up quite a few)! Needless to say this book has been sitting on mys shelf untouched for far too long, but recently I have been seeing this book pop up on my bookstagram feed quite a bit as well as a lot of posts about some of Jenn Bennett's other books so I finally gave in and picked it up! I honestly think I was hesitant because of the cadaver talk and scientific feel to the synopsis and the title itself. I cannot believe that something so silly was holding me back! This book was amazing! I absolutely loved the two main characters, Bex and Jack! Jenn Bennett portrayed a chemistry between these two in such an amazing way that it was hard to stop reading because I wanted to see what adorable thing would happen next! I loved that there were challenges for each character within the story. Sometimes I find in contemporary novels one character has a completely normal life, and then the love interest has all of these problems, but in this story each character had circumstances they had to over come and they did with the help of each other.

The only thing that I wished was different about this book, was after Bex called her mother out for doing something wrong, we didn't really get to see them sit down and smooth things out, or at least have some sort of rebuttal coming from the mother defending herself, but that may just be my opinion! I also wish we got to see some of the time spent together with Jack's family and Bex's.

Overall, I think this book was really really good and I absolutely cannot wait to get my hands on some other Jenn Bennett books, especially Alex, Approximately!


Have you read any books by Jenn Bennett? If so what's your favorite? Let me know!

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

May TBR!

We are so close to summer! It's May already, where is the year going? In April, I had created my first specific TBR list (meaning I had picked out all the books and what order I wanted to read them in

bottom of page