top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureHannah

Midnight Sun

Author: Trish Cook

Genre: Contemporary

Rating: 3.5/5


Synopsis (Goodreads)

Seventeen-year-old Katie Price has a rare disease that makes exposure to even the smallest amount of sunlight deadly. Confined to her house during the day, her company is limited to her widowed father and her best (okay, only) friend. It isn't until after nightfall that Katie's world opens up, when she takes her guitar to the local train station and plays for the people coming and going.

Charlie Reed is a former all-star athlete at a crossroads in his life - and the boy Katie has secretly admired from afar for years. When he happens upon her playing guitar one night, fate intervenes and the two embark on a star-crossed romance.

As they challenge each other to chase their dreams and fall for each other under the summer night sky, Katie and Charlie form a bond strong enough to change them - and everyone around them - forever.




My Thoughts

I had never heard about this book, or even seen this book, before the movie trailer had been released, but I am happy that it is a book. It isn't the most perfect "oh my goodness everyone has to read this book right now" story, but if you're into really cheesy, to perfect to be true romances, then this is probably a good book for you.

The main character suffers from a rare disease called XP which means that she cannot go into the sun, leaving her to live her life during the night. She has two best friends, her dad and Morgan, who are pretty good characters, and then she has a love interest, who she's been watching for years out her window as he passes by her house everyday. All of that made for an interesting story, however I felt like their could've been more conflict within the story. I felt like the relationship between Charlie and Katie was a bit to instantaneous, and from the moment they met everything seemed pretty much perfect. I just feel like their should've been a bit more obstacles within their relationship (besides the last huge one of course). I'm realizing as I am writing this review that I actually have mixed feelings about this because I adore how cheesy it was, but there was no conflict, no drama that (if the character is supposed to actually reflect a real teenager) would've added some extra entertainment. Hmmm...I'm not really sure what else to say or how I feel now!


Have you read Midnight Sun? Have you seen the movie? Let me know!

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

May TBR!

We are so close to summer! It's May already, where is the year going? In April, I had created my first specific TBR list (meaning I had picked out all the books and what order I wanted to read them in

bottom of page