top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureHannah

My Top 10 Favorite Movie Adaptations

Updated: Apr 25, 2018

Sometimes it feels like almost every book is getting turned into a movie! I love watching books come to the big screen (or small screen) because I get to compare what I envisioned when first reading it compared to what other people imagined! Unfortunately, sometimes these book to movie adaptations aren't the best (yes, I'm looking at you City of Bones movie..).



Here are my top 10 favorite book to movie adaptations!


1. The Great Gatsby

I watched the movie before I ever read the book (mostly because I knew I would have to read the book for English class) and I fell in love. I've watched this movie so many times I could probably quote it word for word if I tried hard enough. Leonardo Di Caprio does such an amazing job playing Gatsby, he probably had the hardest role in the movie in my opinion. Also, the music in this movie is amazing! The song Young and Beautiful is used several different times and I adore the "flappers" remix of it, which is played during the first party Daisy attends at Gatsby's (I could be wrong so don't quote me on that aha). The book was captivating as well, and usually when I am forced to read a book in school I hate it, but this was not the case at all. F. Scott Fitzgerald did an amazing job and kept me intrigued the entire time with all his symbols and metaphors and hidden meanings.

2. The Hunger Games

The Hunger Games trilogy by Suzanne Collins was the first every young adult series I remember reading! This series is what got me interested in the dystopian genre and what made me realize I was mature enough to start reading more mature books that contained some heavy topics. Also, for the four years that these movies were released, I went to theaters with my mom and Grandma to see the movie which was really fun!

3. The Fault in Our Stars

TFIOS was the first John Green book I ever read, and immediately after finishing it I wanted to read every other book he had written. A tragic, but real love story. Ansel Elgort was the perfect Augustus Waters, bring him to life in the same way I imagined him. I remember going to see this in the theater and as soon as the lights went down and the title appeared on the screen me and my best friend instantly started crying our eyes out because we knew of the heartbreak that was going to happen. We both absolutely loved this movie and thought it was perfect.

4. The Maze Runner

James Dashner did such an amazing job writing the action scenes in this book and his words made it so easy to picture what was actually happening in the story. The directors of this movie had the perfect cast and the setting was absolutely amazing. This was another movie that came to life almost exactly how I had imagined it while reading.

5. The Lucky One

I am a complete sucker for any Nicholas Sparks book or movie, but this has got to be my absolute favorite pair. You've got the cute army guy (hellllooo Zac Efron), the jerk ex, and the love interest caught in the middle. I think the idea of someone searching for someone else simply because their photo is what kept them alive is so sweet and adorable, and that is what I loved about both the book and the movie. They were both so good!

6. Charlie St. Cloud

Charlie St. Cloud written by Ben Sherwood another swoon worthy main character brought to life by Zac Efron. A heart breaking story of a world turned upside down caused by a split second of attention turned away from the road. Reading about the conflict that Zac Efron encounters after the death of a loved one in his family was one thing, but seeing the struggle brought to life on screen was completely different, but both were portrayed so well!

7. Papertowns

Another novel by John Green! I loved reading about a boy who was so determined to find the girl he loved because she ran away again, it was somewhat of a mystery as Margo left clues in several places that Quentin thought were for him, and so he followed every clue, despite the advice given to him from several other people. It was such a good read, and it was fun to see the journey brought to life on the big screen!

8. If I Stay

If I Stay by Gayle Forman was a really good read, however it was perfect that there was a movie adaptation because at some points for me the book did become a bit confusing between Mia's real life and her out of body experience. Both the movie and the book were so emotional and complimented each other really well.

9. Divergent

I really enjoyed the entire series written by Veronica Roth, however, the only movie based off the books I absolutely loved was the first movie. I did enjoy the other movies, just not as much. It was really cool to see each of the factions brought to life, and the technology that they had developed in the future. I do think that Miles Teller was a bit annoying in this movie, however Theo James was a good choice to play Four!

10. Sisterhood of the Travelling Pants!

This was such a cute book written by Ann Brashares was such a cute story about 4 best friends each going on there own journey but experiencing it together and I think it was an important read for me because I read it right before going into high school and it taught me that friends may go separate ways but they will always be there for you. The movie was super cute, and perfect for sleepovers or to watch with your mom!

TFIOS was the first John Green book I ever read and as soon as I finished it I instantly wanted to read every other book he had written. It was so heart breaking, and funny, and amazing that I never wanted it to end! Ansel Elgort was the perfect Augustus Waters, he brought him to life the way I had pictured him in my mind. I remember seeing this in the theater with my best friend and as soon as the lights went down and the title flashed on the screen we both just started crying because ultimately we knew what happened, and couldn't bare to watch it, even though in the end we went back to watch it again.


0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

May TBR!

We are so close to summer! It's May already, where is the year going? In April, I had created my first specific TBR list (meaning I had picked out all the books and what order I wanted to read them in

bottom of page