top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureHannah

Queer Representation in Novels

Hello everyone! Today I am trying something different - a collab post! I thought it would be interesting to share other people's thoughts on here so you guys get a variety of things to read! This week I chose to do an interview regarding queer representation in novels because I feel it is important that every individual has a character to relate to no matter what!


Hello! Can you introduce yourself to us!

I'm Laura Mills, and I run the queerwritingandreading Instagram, and am a full-time writer.



On your instagram, you review mostly only books that have a queer aspect to them, is there a specific reason for this?

Yes, as a queer person who is deeply political I find it hard to remove the queer lens I look through the world at when I'm reading, so I stopped trying to and embraced it instead. Using my unique skill set to hopefully share information and excitement about literature with other queer readers.

What is your opinion on the amount of representation of the LGBTQ+ community within fiction novels?

I always think there could be more, but I'm so happy to be in a position where I no longer have to settle for any book with a queer person. I am so happy I get to be picky.

What are some of your favourite books with queer representation? Least Favourite?

I think for a favourite, the book I just read The Gentlemen's Guide to Vice and Virtue really went above and beyond for me. And for least favourite, the Eli Monpress series really let me down.

Who is your favourite queer character?

I will say Monty from The Gentlemen's Guide to Vice and Virtue, I really love a cocky character with a side of intense emotional issues, what can I say.

What is a genre you wish had more representation?

Thriller and horror, which are among my favourite cinematic genres but reading them is hard because I find so little representation and so much degradation.

Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda is receiving a lot of hype right now because of the movie, Love, Simon, that was recently released into theatres? Have you read it and if so what’re your thoughts on it?

I have read it, and I loved it. It is something that I can already see is really affecting queer youth and that is really all I can ask for from a book.

What are you currently writing? Would you like to share a piece?

I am writing a novel titled The War is Over which is about a group of people who were brought together by a magical apocalypse and now that they have defeated it, they have to figure out what to do next, here is a (barely edited) piece from the first chapter:

“Just tell her it’s me calling.” Juniper sat on the firm bed and leaned his back against the wall. “Or better yet, just give the phone to her. We can talk about cooking, she can give me some healthy recipes to cook for my-” Juniper stopped short and had to take in a deep breath and a moment to reconstruct the sentence. “For myself.”

Amir who was fully aware of how the sentence had been originally intended to end coughed awkwardly. “Yeah.” It took him a second to decide whether to address the slip or not, but decided against it, leaving the topic to be dealt with some other time. “There is no way you and my mom are ever allowed to talk again. Not since you convinced her to take me to spin class with her.”

“Hey, that was your own fault, you had skipped training three weeks in a row and I couldn’t let you show up to the big final battle unprepared. Hell, I bet that extra exercise is why we won tonight, in fact I feel I deserve at least seventy percent of the credit for the victory.” Juniper smirked and looked up to the ceiling as he heard Amir huff on the other end.

“Why are we friends again?” Amir asked.

“Because I saved seventy percent of the world.” Juniper jabbed. “You can’t not be friends with someone who saved seventy percent of the world.”

There was a moment of silence, for a second, Juniper was left with his thoughts and a faint buzz of static from the phone. He was about to break the silence himself when Amir spoke.

“Hey Juniper?” Amir prompted quietly.

“Yeah?”

“We saved the world tonight.” And Juniper was not sure if it was the patented Amir earnest tone that flooded his veins with comfort, or the sentiment itself, but he couldn’t help his smile.

“Hell yeah, we did.”

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

May TBR!

We are so close to summer! It's May already, where is the year going? In April, I had created my first specific TBR list (meaning I had picked out all the books and what order I wanted to read them in

bottom of page